I nearly sold my soul to my degree

Guess who’s back 😉

It’s been a while…maybe a bit more of a while; but exams hit me like a bulldozer through a brick wall.

Final year has hit me pretty hard. As it does to many.

As my life hangs in the balance of the grades to be announced, for the first time in a long time, I have time to kick back and relax. (Well as much as anyone who is unreasonably expected to have their life sorted pending their graduation date would).

Trying to work out where my mojo vanished to has been baffling me for weeks. It may sound cliche, but I have recently been experiencing a sense of unease and lack of inspiration. Going back and forth between university and home hardly serves as the most exhilarating journey of all time.

It is not until this light bulb moment right here that it has dawned on me, that being so entirely engrossed in academic reading and writing has hindered my opportunity to enjoy anything else. I had nearly lost myself in required reading and past paper questions. That is not to say that academic reading is boring. Parts of it is interesting. But, heavily  reading academia for academic purposes does not do much for the creative flow.

To redeem by mojo back I went out for some drinks, have been divulging myself in my pile of unread magazines and plan to start reading again; open up my imaginative mind. Alongside my creativity, my faith took a bit of slippery-slope-slip as well. Not to say I had lost it, I still prayed, went to church, and continued to believe that God would guide me through this treacherous journey they call a law degree. But what I had lost was my desire to seek God, my desire to continuing building our relationship, my desire to get closer. Our conversation often didn’t get much richer than thank you, tomorrow is a new day, help me to work harder, do well.

Some people can bounce straight back up and into their mojo again, but if you’re struggling, consider revisiting a favourite spot, an old hobby or trying something new. Anything to get your spirit back into top gear. Getting my religious spirit back into gear might take some time. To be honest, I believe you always have to be working on it, to remain in high spirits. However, I do believe that a slip in inspiration requires some intervention. Therefore, I’ve been looking for sermons that speak to me directly; so I can literally feel God’s presence.

If you are time management king or queen, do not lost that skill. However, most of us are still learning.  Just make sure you do not lose yourself, lose your soul, in the aspiration of achieving one goal.

Matthew 16:26: “For what will it profit a man if he gains the whole world and forfeits his soul. Or what shall a man give in exchange for his soul?”

We have thousands of goals but only one soul to protect, one soul to help us, one soul to save us.

Hopefully our efforts will be fruitful and we can get back to our vivacious selves. Being inspired to inspire.

Ta ta for now x

 

Drop a comment why don't ya ;)

